Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

How to register

Registering for classes at Penn State is a two-step process.  Students first meet with their academic adviser to discuss course selection for the upcoming semester.  Students then complete their registration by taking action on their semester tuition bill.  Visit eLion to find the name of your academic adviser and use the Advising Preparation application to contact your academic adviser.  Visit the Bursar's web site to learn more about tuition, billing, and payment options.

When to register and take other academic actions

The Academic Calendar lists important semester dates, including the dates of the drop/add period, as well as the last day to late-drop for each semester.  


Key Academic Actions and Associated Dates for Spring 2016
Action  Dates 
Intent to Graduate Activation    Saturday, January 2 - Monday, January 25 
Leave of Absence Deadline Friday, January 8
Classes Begin  Monday, January 11
Drop period Monday, January 11 - Wednesday, January 20 (11:59 p.m.)
Add period Monday, January 11 - Thursday, January 21 (8:00 a.m.)
Late drop Thursday, January 21 - Friday, April 8
Late Registration Begins  Friday, January 22
Martin Luther King Day - No Classes  Monday, January 18
Spring Break - No Classes   Sunday - Saturday, March 6 - March 12
Withdrawal Deadline Friday, April 29
Last Day of Classes Friday, April 29
Final Exams  Monday, May 2 - Friday, May 6
Commencement  Saturday, May 7

Retroactive Registration

In the event a student does not take action on his/her tuition bill before the semester ends, he/she may need to process a Retroactive Registration.  For more information, stop in our office in Frable 101B or call us at 412-675-9172.