Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

How to register

Registering for classes at Penn State is a two-step process.  Students first meet with their academic adviser to discuss course selection for the upcoming semester.  Students then complete their registration by taking action on their semester tuition bill.  Visit eLion to find the name of your academic adviser and use the Advising Preparation application to contact your academic adviser.  Visit the Bursar's web site to learn more about tuition, billing, and payment options.

When to register and take other academic actions

The Academic Calendar lists important semester dates, including the dates of the drop/add period, as well as the last day to late-drop for each semester.  

 

Key Academic Actions and Associated Dates for Fall 2015
Action  Dates 
Intent to Graduate Activation    Monday, August 17 - Tuesday, September 8 
Leave of Absence Deadline Friday, August 21
Classes Begin  Monday, August 24
Drop period Monday, August 24 - Wednesday, Sept.  2 (11:59 p.m.)
Add period Monday, August 24 - Thursday, Sept. 3 (8:00 a.m.)
Late drop Thursday, September 3 - Friday, November 13
Thanksgiving Break - No Classes  Sunday, Nov. 22 - Sunday, Nov. 29 
Withdrawal Deadline Friday, December 11
Last Day of Classes Friday, December 11
Final Exams  Monday, December 14 - Thursday, December 17
Commencement  TBA

Retroactive Registration

In the event a student does not take action on his/her tuition bill before the semester ends, he/she may need to process a Retroactive Registration.  For more information, stop in our office in Frable 101B or call us at 412-675-9172.